Skip Navigation

Wednesday, 19 June 2019

50th Anniversary of the first RTÉ Broadcast

Stamp of approval for RTÉ Television’s 50th anniversary


Well-known RTÉ presenters Anne Doyle, Emma O’Driscoll and Gay Byrne adorn three new 55c stamps issued by An Post today to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the first RTÉ television broadcast.

Strong demand is expected for the new stamps designed by Ger Garland which also show how broadcasting has developed over the 50 years, from the early television sets, through to flat screens and the latest mobile devices.

The new stamps together with a special first day cover envelope featuring all three stamps and the 2011 Irish Stamp Year Book may be viewed and purchased at and at main post offices. 

Since New Year’s Eve 1961, RTÉ Television has captured every aspect of Irish life – politics, arts, religion, childhood, entertainment, sport, music – in all its diversity and complexity.

RTÉ TV50 is a year-long celebration of these fifty years of Irish life across RTÉ Television, Radio,, and in events for which RTÉ partners with other organisations.

The celebration offers the audience the opportunity to remember the experiences of the last fifty years, and imagine those to come in the next half century.

RTÉ TV50 will begin on New Year’s Eve, 2011, and run throughout 2012.

The new stamps also take centre stage in the 2011 Irish Stamp Yearbook, a full-colour limited edition hardback. The publication which contains every stamp issued during the year, together with additional illustrations and information on each featured subject can be purchased at at main post offices and by phone at 01-7057400.