Skip Navigation

Saturday, 23 June 2018

Royal Sites of Ireland

Royal Sites of Ireland


On April 20, An Post issued a stamp to recognise Ireland’s Royal Past.

The Royal Sites of Ireland are historical sites around the country that were used by Kings and other Irish royalty for coronations, ceremonies and gatherings. There is one in Ulster, Munster, and Connaught while the remaining three can be found in Leinster.

In Ireland there are six royal sites in total; Eamhain Mhacha, Dún Ailinee, Rock of Cashel, Rathcroghan, Hill of Tara, and Hill of Uisneach. The first, Eamhain Mhacha (Navan Fort), is located in Co. Armagh and was the royal site for the Kings of Ulster. The second, Dún Ailinee, was the site used by the Kings of Leinster and is an ancient ceremonial site on the hill of Cnoc Ailinee (Knockaulin) in Co. Kildare.

Third on our list is the Rock of Cashel which was the location for the Kings of Munster and this today is one of the most visited tourist attractions in Ireland. Fourth is Rathcroghan (meaning ringfort of Cruachan), an archaeological site near Tulsk in Co. Roscommon, which was the meeting place for the Kings of Connaught.

The fifth site is the Hill of Tara which was the seat of the Kings of Meath and the seat of the Irish High Kings. Finally, the Hill of Uisneach in Westmeath is traditionally regarded as the epicentre of Ireland, where all the provinces meet.