An Post / INTO Handwriting Competition delivers a dream for Winners


10 May 2018:  Primary and secondary school students gathered in Dublin’s GPO today at the National Awards Ceremony for this year’s An Post / INTO Handwriting Competition.

With over 50,000 entries received from the 26 counties, the annual handwriting competition is a long standing partnership between An Post and the INTO and one of the biggest schools’ competitions in the country.

This year’s theme, ‘Delivering a dream’ asked students to write about what they would send someone by post to make a dream come through.  Gilles Ferrandez, An Post’s Commercial Director Parcels, said; “online shopping is changing how we do business, 48% of Irish adults say they shop online at least once a month.”

The INTO is celebrating 150 years in 2018 and is the biggest and oldest Teachers trade union in Ireland, advocating literacy and education for all children while An Post has supported a schools’ competition for over thirty years.

The INTO is proud that their members help pupils produce clear and coherent writing.  Joe Killeen President INTO said; “promoting handwriting is one of the key objectives for our members and remains an important component of the training received by teachers especially in this digital age as handwriting continues to be a significant proficiency for children to have”.

Eight students from primary and secondary schools were presented with a framed certificate, €500 for their school and a €50 One4all gift card.  The National Awards Ceremony finished with a visit to the GPO Witness History Visitor Centre.

The themes for the competition were ‘Delivering a dream – the growth of parcels’ for secondary schools and the ‘St. Patrick’s Day Festival’ for primary schools. 

The winners of the An Post/INTO Handwriting Competition are: 

  • David Jones, senior infant, Scoil Mhuire, Granard, Co Longford; 
  • Megan McHugh, 1st class, St Clare’s Primary School, Harold’s Cross, Dublin; 
  • Nthati Rammusi, 4th class, Scoil Mhuire gan Smál, Carlow; 
  • Jane McCormack, 2nd class, Shronell NS, Tipperary and 
  • Luke Herangi, 1st class, from St Brigid’s BNS, Dublin 18.  
  • Sophie Rafter, 1st year, Presentation Secondary School, Kilkenny, 
  • Lauren Dolphin, 4th year, St Raphael’s College, Loughrea, Galway 
  • Fabiano da Silva, 1st year, Tarbert Comprehensive School, Kerry



Object reference not set to an instance of an object.