Thank you for taking part in the An Post/ INTO Scéal Eile Competition.

We had a huge response from schools all over the country. The standard of entries from students entering the competition was superb. You really put in a great effort. Well done!

To reward your class for taking part, download certificates of merit for:

Here are the winners for 2019

Primary Winners

  • Ava Harney, Ballinamere N.S., Tullamore, Co. Offaly, Category 1
  • Menahal Fatima Naqui, Castletown Girls School, Dundalk, Co. Louth, Category 2
  • Ella Sweeney, S.N. Naomh Breandán, Cor an Dola, Co. na Gaillimhe, Category 3
  • Jamie Kinsella, Gorey Educate Together N.S., Gorey, Co. Wexford, Category 4
  • Jasmine McDonnell, All Saints National School, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath, Special Award

Primary Runners-up

  • Carla Bonalana, St. Louis Infant School, Dublin 6, Category 1
  • Pola Drabik, Kilmyshall N.S., Bunclody, Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford, Category 1
  • Dylan Ó Ruáin, Gaelscoil an Chaisleáin, Baile an Chollaigh, Co. Corcaí, Category 1
  • AJ Tyghe, St. Aidan's Parish School, Nunnery Road, Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford, Category 2
  • Isabelle Cahill, Coachford N.S., Coachford, Co. Cork, Category 2
  • Daniel Higgins, S.N. Naomh Guasachta, Bunlahy, Ballinalee, Co. Longford, Category 2
  • Martyna Antoszewska, St. Francis of Assisi P.S., Belmayne, Dublin 13, Category 3
  • Sophia Walsh, Scoil Sidhbhín, Cahersiveen, Co. Kerry, Category 3
  • Clive Barlow, Taunagh N.S., Riverstown, Co. Sligo, Category 3
  • Liam Treacy, St. Brigid's BNS, Foxrock, Dublin 18, Category 4
  • Aoife De Nógla Ní Fheinneadha, Gaelscoil Mhainistir na Corann, Máinistir na Corann, Corcaigh, Category 4
  • Lauren McCahey, Bunscoil Lughaidh Naofa, Carrickmacross, Co. Monaghan, Category 4

Secondary Winners

  • Josh Kenny, Sandymount Park ETSS, Roslyn Park, Sandymount, Dublin 4, Category 1
  • Aisling Byrne, Scoil Dara, Kilcock, Co. Kildare, Category 2
  • Emma Thomas, Castletroy College, Newtown, Co Limerick, Special Award 

Secondary Runners-up

  • Eibhlín Ní Bhreacáin, Meánscoil na Toirbhirte, Dúrlas, Co. Tipperary, Category 1
  • Shauna Fox, Scoil Dara, Kilcock, Co. Kildare, Category 1
  • Briana Gawley, Mercy College, Chapel Hill, Sligo Town, Category 1
  • Lucy Gilmartin, Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon, Co. Cork, Category 2
  • Jamie Donaghue, St. Macartan's College, Derry Road, Monaghan, Co. Monaghan, Category 2
  • Aoibhe Dunne, Stratford College, Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin 6, Category 2 

Teachers draw winners

  • Myra Shannon, Scoil Mhuire, Corofin, Co. Cork 
  • Mrs Daly, Coláiste Mhuire, Bishop Street, Cobh, Co. Cork 

Contact us
PO Box 11201
Dublin 1

Telephone: 01 705 7415

(Text panel - Prizes)


All teachers who submit entries into the competition will be automatically entered into a draw for a hotel break for two to the value of €300.

Wildcard prize!

We have a special prize for one primary school and one secondary school. Just by entering, every pupil is in with a chance to win a writing workshop. A well-known Irish author will host a literary workshop for a class in your own school.

Overall  national winners 

  • Category One, Two, Three, Four and Special Award category national winners in the Primary Competition will win an invite to a national awards ceremony and €500 for their school. 
  • Category One and Two national winners in the Secondary Competition will win an invite to a national awards ceremony and €500 for their school. 
  • Each category winner will receive a €50 One4all gift card for the winning pupil, their teacher and principal 

Regional Runners-up

Runners-up in each category for both primary and secondary will win:

  • €100 cash prize for the school
  • €25 One4all gift card for the runner up pupil
  • €25 One4all gift card for their teacher
  • €25 One4all gift card for their school principal

Enter Now!

Find out more about how to enter our competition for primary schools and secondary schools

Competition Entry Form for INTO staff representative

Closing date

The deadline for entries is Tuesday, March 19, 2019 so get posting!

Primary schools categories

  • Category one: Junior infants and senior infants 
  • Category two: First class and second class
  • Category three: Third class and fourth class
  • Category four: Fifth class and sixth class

Secondary schools categories 

  • Category one: First year, second year and third year 
  • Category two: Fourth year, fifth year and sixth year

Special Award

  • A Special Award will be made to one overall winner in both primary and secondary school.

We hope you enjoy the website and look forward to receiving your Scéal Eile Competition entries soon.

Contact us
PO Box 11201
Dublin 1

Telephone: 01 705 7415